e:Med

Measures establishing systems medicine

e:Med, the new Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) nationwide research program, promotes system-oriented research into diseases, in order to facilitate improved prevention, more comprehensive diagnostics and individually adjusted therapy schemes in individualized medicine. “e:Med” stands for the electronic processing and integration of medically relevant data from diverse levels of knowledge in systems medicine.  

System-Medizin-Facetten

Establishing systems medicine in Germany is the objective of researchers who have joined forces in e:Med. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research is funding e:Med with up to 200 million euro, initially for eight years. The concept includes five modules: 14 “Systems medicine research consortia” work on specific issues in module I. “Demonstrators for an individualized medicine”, as pilot projects, are intended to demonstrate the direct benefits of data records from high-throughput research to individualized prevention, diagnosis and therapy in module II. Module III “Promotion of young investigators” covers the funding measures “junior research groups” and “junior research alliances”, as well as the organization of high-quality “summer schools”. e:Med module IV “Future-oriented and cross-cutting issues” will enable a flexible response to the need for innovation and currently represents an interface to other BMBF initiatives, such as de.NBI and i:DSem. The subject of module V “Internationalization” is participation in important international measures, such as ICGC, IHEC, ERA networks and CASyM. Concurrently, the BMBF  funds projects regarding ethical, legal and social aspects of systems medicine.

Download e:Med research and funding concept

A complex interaction of individual genetic differences, environment, nutrition and lifestyle determines whether someone is ill or healthy. How do the various systems interlink and how can they be influenced to promote health? Computer scientists and mathematicians network with medical and biological experts at e:Med, with the objective of recording complex processes quantitatively and in chronological order, and understanding correlations on multiple levels.
 
e:Med scientists examine large quantities of health-related data through an interaction between lab experiments and computer models. This approach, termed “systems medicine”, should contribute to developing innovative therapy and prevention procedures, centered on individual persons. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research funds the implementation of a systems medicine network in Germany through the new e:Med research concept.

Which bio-samples are examined? The basis for the systems medicine examination is an analysis of genomes, proteins or the metabolic products of bio-samples, such as blood, urine or tissue.
 
Which technologies are employed? Samples are obtained, for example using molecular biology and imaging methods or through tissue examinations. This is primarily carried out using the latest automated “omics” methods in a high throughput process. Several methods are continuously improved and optimized within e:Med.
 
Rapid technical progress and the ever more accurate analytical methods in medical research contribute to the accrual of increasingly large quantities of data – catchword “Big Data”. e:Med scientists precisely analyze and integrate them, making sure that the decisive part of this data flood can actually benefit the patient.
 
The “systems medicine” approach applies to major, common diseases as well as rare diseases, with their complex causes, as an opportunity to provide affected persons with improved treatment and prevention.

e:Med

Maßnahmen zur Etablierung der Systemmedizin

e:Med, das neue deutschlandweite Forschungsprogramm des BMBF, forciert die systemorientierte Erforschung von Krankheiten, um verbesserte Prävention, umfassendere Diagnostik und individuell angepasste Therapieschemata in der individualisierten Medizin zu ermöglichen. „e:Med“ steht für die elektronische Prozessierung und Integration medizinisch relevanter Daten diverser Wissensebenen in der Systemmedizin.

System-Medizin-Facetten

Die Systemmedizin in Deutschland zu etablieren, ist das Ziel der Forscher, die sich in e:Med zusammengeschlossen haben. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung fördert e:Med mit bis zu 200 Mio. Euro für zunächst acht Jahre. Das Konzept umfasst fünf Module: In Modul I arbeiten 14 „Forschungskonsortien der Systemmedizin“ zu spezifischen Themen. In Modul II sollen „Demonstratoren für die Individualisierte Medizin“ als Pilotprojekte den direkten Nutzen von Datensätzen aus der Hochdurchsatzforschung für die individualisierte Prävention, Diagnose und Therapie zeigen. Modul III „Nachwuchsförderung“ umfasst die Fördermaßnahmen „Juniorverbünde“ und „Nachwuchsgruppen“ sowie die Organisation von hochkarätigen „Summer Schools“. Das e:Med-Modul IV „Zukunfts- und Querschnittsthemen“ wird ermöglichen, flexibel auf Innovationsbedarf zu reagieren und stellt aktuell eine Schnittstelle zu weiteren BMBF-Initiativen wie de.NBI und i:DSem dar. Modul V „Internationalisierung“ hat die Beteiligung an wichtigen internationalen Maßnahmen wie ICGC, IHEC, ERA-Netzen und CASyM zum Gegenstand. Parallel fördert das BMBF Projekte zu den ethischen, rechtlichen und sozialen Aspekten der Systemmedizin.

Download Forschungs- und Förderkonzept e:Med

Individuelle genetische Unterschiede, Umwelt, Ernährung und Lebensstil entscheiden in einem komplexen Zusammenspiel darüber, ob jemand gesund oder krank ist. Wie greifen die verschiedenen Systeme ineinander und wie lassen sie sich im Dienste der Gesundheit beeinflussen? In e:Med vernetzen sich Computerwissenschaftler und Mathematiker mit medizinischen und biologischen Experten mit dem Ziel, die komplexen Abläufe quantitativ und in ihrer zeitlichen Abfolge zu erfassen und die Zusammenhänge über viele Ebenen zu verstehen.
 
Die e:Med Wissenschaftler untersuchen hierbei große Mengen gesundheitsbezogener Daten durch ein Wechselspiel von Laborexperimenten und Computermodellen. Diese als „Systemmedizin“ bezeichnete Herangehensweise soll dazu beitragen, innovative Therapie- und Präventionsverfahren zu entwickeln, in deren Zentrum der individuelle Mensch steht. Das Bundesforschungsministerium fördert die Etablierung eines Netzwerkes der Systemmedizin in Deutschland durch das neue Forschungskonzept e:Med.

Welche Bioproben werden untersucht? Grundlage der systemmedizinischen Untersuchung ist die Analyse des Erbguts, der Proteine oder der Stoffwechselprodukte von Bioproben wie Blut, Urin oder Gewebe.
 
Welche Technologien werden eingesetzt? Die Proben werden beispielsweise mit molekularbiologischen und bildgebenden Verfahren oder durch Gewebeuntersuchungen gewonnen. Dies geschieht vorrangig mit neuesten automatisierten „Omics“-Methoden im Hochdurchsatz. Einige Methoden werden in e:Med weiter optimiert.
 
Der rasante technische Fortschritt und die immer genaueren Analysemethoden in der Medizinforschung tragen dazu bei, dass zunehmend große Datenmengen anfallen – Stichwort „Big Data“. Die e:Med Wissenschaftler analysieren und integrieren diese genau, damit der entscheidende Teil dieser Datenflut tatsächlich dem Patienten zu Gute kommen kann.
 
Die Herangehensweise der „Systemmedizin“ gilt sowohl für die großen Volkskrankheiten als auch für seltene Erkrankungen mit ihren komplexen Ursachen als Chance, Betroffenen eine bessere Behandlung und Prävention anbieten zu können.